

EPC409-09 Version 1.3 Date issued: 3 July 2013

# **EPC List of SEPA Countries**

**Circulation**: Publicly available **Restricted:** No

#### 1. Background

This document lists the countries and territories or dependencies which are part of the Single Euro Payment Area (SEPA). The countries, territories and dependencies are recognised by their ISO codes to be used in BICs and IBANs as required by the SEPA schemes.

## 2. EU/EEA countries

SEPA consists of the 28 European Union (EU) countries (including the Euro 17 countries) and the additional 3 EEA (European Economic Area) countries.

## 3. EU Territories and dependencies under Article 355 of the EU Treaty

There are a number of territories and dependencies that are considered to be part of the EU and others in which the Treaties do not apply or apply only partially, according to Article 355 of the EU Treaty. Those entities where the provisions of the Treaties shall apply are part of SEPA [http://eur-lex.europa.eu/JOHtml.do?uri=OJ:C:2008:115:SOM:EN:HTML].

#### 4. Countries or territories outside the EU

As resolved by the EPC Plenary between March 2006 and June 2009, Switzerland, Monaco, Mayotte and Saint Pierre and Miquelon are considered to be part of SEPA, and eligible local institutions are permitted to adhere to the SEPA Schemes in accordance with the relevant EPC adherence procedure.

However, in accordance with Recital 5 of Regulation (EU) No 260/2012<sup>1</sup> the governance arrangements of the SEPA project are under review by the European Commission. Consequently, future decisions on the fundamentals of SEPA including any decisions on the geographical scope of SEPA will most likely depend on the outcome of the 'SEPA governance review' which is expected to be completed and implemented in the course of 2013.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 March 2012 establishing technical and business requirements for credit transfers and direct debits in euro and amending Regulation (EC) No 924/2009 (the SEPA Regulation)



## 5. List of SEPA countries or territories and their ISO country and currency codes

In SEPA messages, countries are denominated by their ISO country codes contained in the BICs and the IBANs. The list presents the name of the countries or territories with the corresponding ISO country and currency codes.

Country/territory	Name according to EU interinstitutional style guide (publications.europa.eu/code/en/en-5000500.htm)		
BIC	Country code used in BICs according to ISO 3166-1:2006 (www.iso.org/iso/country_codes.htm)		
IBAN	Country code used in IBANs ( <u>www.swift.com/solutions/messaging/</u> information products/directory products/iban format registry/index.page?lang=en)		
Currency code	Currency code according to ISO 4127 ( <u>www.iso.org/iso/support/faqs/faqs_widely_used_standards/</u> widely_used_standards_other/country_name_codes.htm)		

Country/territory	BIC	IBAN	Currency code
Åland Islands	FI	FI	EUR
Austria	AT	AT	EUR
Azores	РТ	РТ	EUR
Belgium	BE	BE	EUR
Bulgaria	BG	BG	BGN
Canary Islands	ES	ES	EUR
Croatia <sup>2</sup>	HR	HR	HRK
Cyprus	CY	CY	EUR
Czech Republic	CZ	CZ	CZK
Denmark	DK	DK	DKK
Estonia	EE	EE	EUR
Finland	FI	FI	EUR
France	FR	FR	EUR
French Guiana	GF	FR	EUR
Germany	DE	DE	EUR
Gibraltar	GI	GI	GIP
Greece	GR	GR	EUR
Guadeloupe	GP	FR	EUR
Hungary	HU	HU	HUF
Iceland	IS	IS	ISK
Ireland	IE	IE	EUR
Italy	IT	IT	EUR

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> With effect from 1 July 2013.



BIC	IBAN	Currency code
LV	LV	LVL
LI	LI	CHF
LT	LT	LTL
LU	LU	EUR
РТ	РТ	EUR
MT	MT	EUR
MQ	FR	EUR
YT	FR	EUR
MC	MC	EUR
NL	NL	EUR
NO	NO	NOK
PL	PL	PLN
РТ	РТ	EUR
RE	FR	EUR
RO	RO	RON
BL	FR	EUR
MF	FR	EUR
PM	FR	EUR
SK	SK	EUR
SI	SI	EUR
ES	ES	EUR
SE	SE	SEK
СН	СН	CHF
GB	GB	GBP
	LV LI LT PT MT MQ YT MC NL NO PL PT RE RO BL MF BL MF SK SI ES SE CH	LV LV   LI LI   LT LT   LU LU   PT PT   MT MT   MQ FR   YT FR   MC MC   NL NL   NC NC   PT PT   MC NC   NL NL   PT PT   PT PT   RO NO   BL FR   MF FR   PM FR   SK SK   SE SE   SE SE   CH CH